Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Overall rating:
4.125 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 1 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Malbec!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Will22
Location:Missouri
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We loved this Malbec with or without food. We rated it 5 stars and purchased a case. Very good fruity essence with a hint of chocolate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where Have I been

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
karen1950
Location:Peoria, IL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malbec was all new to me Argentine or South African,now I am having a hard time deciding which I like most. I will just keep pouring and decide later
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full, rich, wonderful mouth-feel!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris45
Location:Florida, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite Malbec, and OPI never disappoints! The wine is full, no harshness at all. Please keep offering it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Malbec!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
tifferdite1
Location:Detroit, MI, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tannins and heavy on the tongue. Chocolate essence along with a slight elderberry tartness. Very deep and rich. Again an OUTSTANDING Malbec!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was a great bottle of wine for my first Laithwaites experience...

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BlueHeron
Location:Long Beach, CA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first bottle of my initial shipment. It was a very tasty Malbec. It was smooth and flavorful. It wad hard to stop drinking it. But the next day I was glad I did because I got to have some more! I'm glad they sent two bottles of this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Malbec

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
vinolover
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is okay, but the Opi 2010 is much, much better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just slightly above average.

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
BobandCheryl
Location:CT
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We prefer a dry red wine with more of a full body and flavor. This Malbec was just OK overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
ChacMool
Location:Florida, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We thoroughly enjoyed this Malbec and plan to add more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great taste, strong finish

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Dcip23
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love malbecs and this one is no exception. Smooth taste, with a great finish.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rasberry Jam

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Edog
Location:Boston, MA, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very fruit forward malbec. Nice fruit rollup nose with jammy rasberries on the palate. Does not have the spicy, dark fruit of other malbec. No oak but a nice subtle finish of jammy tartness. If you like fruit forward wines with no oak, this is your wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great flavor. Very fruity

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
martini
Location:Brooklyn, NY, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This wine is really great with meat. It is worth the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color, taste, and favor

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
bighug4
Location:Florida
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great Malbec. One of my favorite vines. Goes well with red meats.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful wine, lots of fruit

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
RiMo
Location:Walnut, CA, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This wine is thoroughly enjoyable, one that can be enjoyed with or without food. Lots of big fruit, and excellent example of an Argentinian Malbec.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2010.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very tasty!

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Zoenoodles
Location:MA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very very good. My favorite from the initial sampler case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

exactly what I think a malbec is about

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
swetgras
Location:Intermountain west
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a true malbec w/much fruit. will get better with age. i will order more and hold
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The wine was good but not full bodied.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer avatar
tropicaldreamer
Location:Bay City, Michigan
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The wine was not full bodied and lacked any kind of direction.I did however really enjoy the Reserve!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.