Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
28 out of 32(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 1 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

we love this malbec

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
ronandkari18
Location:Levittown, PA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love malbec in general but this one has a place in our hearts. Tastes great with a chill in the air and sitting in front of a fire. Love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delish!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
MHennessey
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Accidentally received this bottle- but what wonderful serendipity. Smooth, no tannins, lots of fruit. A little bit of a spicy finish.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK at ten bucks a bottle.

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
light smoke on the nose. aroma not strong. no legs, thin. dark. sour berries with a bitter dryness. good spiciness. limited pairings, maybe teriyaki beef?
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't get by first sip―had to spit it out!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
CarlBach
Location:New Hampshire, USA
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the second wine I have tasted in the Laithwaite introductory case that is a miserable excuse for a drink―I don't want to call it wine. I can't believe I paid for this. It is indescribable. It is not something I will place in my mouth again. I really wanted to like Laithwaite Wines. I tried. Because Laithwaite Wines sent this thing to me as one of their picks to introduce me to their "fine" wines I have only one choice. I have to cancel all further shipments from Laitwaite Wines.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceNovember 11, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Red

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Janice901
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not much of a red wine lover, but this is one that I will absolutely drink anytime. Loved it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bold and flavorful - smooth, too!

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
TomTiger
Location:AL
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great drinking wine - bold and flavorful - smooth, too! Either drink it alone or with a spicy dish. We love it both ways!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is one of my very favorites!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
SC1234
Location:South Carolina, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine is absolutely great. I would order this and will order this many times over. It is good with any type of food and great for just a glass as a cocktail.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceOctober 22, 2014
Thanks for the review, we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Opi Malbec and want to let you know how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click!

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Jamal
Location:Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Very smooth. Great with steak. Just love this wine. Thanks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very dry

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
logcabin97
Location:Beatrice, NE
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
a very dry wine and also heavy. Needs to be more smoother!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perhaps the best value red at Laithwaites

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fkarem
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this in my intro. case and was very, very happy with it. Sadler is best known for the Waxed Bat reds, which are good but a bit sweet for me. This malbec, in contrast, was a marvel of balance: good fruit, acidity, and mild tannins all working together. You can drink this on its own or with a wide range of foods, from red sauce pasta dishes to a hearty steak. It's a superior value for the price as well. If you like this, you should try his reserve Malbec, which is outstanding as well and great for special occasions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Malbec

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jay118
Location:Salisbury, NC
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love the Malbac. Velvet smooth. Fantastic with a grilled steak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This wine was smooth and pleasant to drink.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
GEJGS94
Location:Northfield, MN, USA
We enjoy a good Malbec and found this one to be excellent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

J Opi Malbec 2012

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Claudia7
Location:Hemphill, TX 75948, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this wine, it was not too dry or spicy. It had a pleasant aroma, a rich color and A very smooth velvety finish. Excellent wine, I will buy again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
MumboJumbo1
Location:Florida
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had never tasted a Malbec wine before. I liked this wine so much that I ordered the assorted Malbec wine special. So glad I joined this wine club! I love the deep burgundy color of this wine. The flavor is very nice; not too sweet or too strong.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wine

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
AJ115
Location:Miami, FL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great taste, aroma, it is a great wine all around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Malbec!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Will22
Location:Missouri
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We loved this Malbec with or without food. We rated it 5 stars and purchased a case. Very good fruity essence with a hint of chocolate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where Have I been

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
karen1950
Location:Peoria, IL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malbec was all new to me Argentine or South African,now I am having a hard time deciding which I like most. I will just keep pouring and decide later
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full, rich, wonderful mouth-feel!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris45
Location:Florida, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite Malbec, and OPI never disappoints! The wine is full, no harshness at all. Please keep offering it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Malbec!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
tifferdite1
Location:Detroit, MI, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tannins and heavy on the tongue. Chocolate essence along with a slight elderberry tartness. Very deep and rich. Again an OUTSTANDING Malbec!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was a great bottle of wine for my first Laithwaites experience...

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BlueHeron
Location:Long Beach, CA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first bottle of my initial shipment. It was a very tasty Malbec. It was smooth and flavorful. It wad hard to stop drinking it. But the next day I was glad I did because I got to have some more! I'm glad they sent two bottles of this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>