Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Overall rating:
4.049 / 5
4
 / 
5
(182 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 182 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
12
1 Star
5
127 out of 133(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 1 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedApril 24, 2016
Customer avatar
Decent Malbec, but tasted a bit young
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 18, 2016
Customer avatar
Very good. We like the plum undertones very much and thought it added to the taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 17, 2016
Customer avatar
Very nice Malbec. Smooth and excellent with food. I generally like Malbecs that are more bold than this, but this is perfect for dinner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedApril 7, 2016
Customer avatar
This wine is a dry red. I prefer a slightly sweeter wine.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy FredCustomer ServiceApril 12, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. Please get in touch and we’ll take care of it, and we'll make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMarch 25, 2016
Customer avatar
Good everyday wine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 14, 2016
Customer avatar
I enjoy the fullness of Malbecs and this one did not disappoint. Very nice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Really enjoyed opi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
I'm usually not a Malbec fan so I was skeptical; but this was smoother and rounder than others I've tried. I good wine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Customer avatar
Really LIked this
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Customer avatar
Pairs well with popcorn?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
This wine tasted better if I had it with food. I prefer something a bit sweeter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 4, 2016
Customer avatar
This was a very versatile red, a strong everyday wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2015.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Customer avatar
It was okay, better with food than on it's own.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 18, 2016
Customer avatar
Terrific wine. Opened to have a glass with my wife in front of fire before dinner and with dinner, but we enjoyed it so much we just sat there and drank the entire bottle ( unusual for us).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Loved it rich fruity taste. Nice finish not to dry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good color, but ends there

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Bradford, PA
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I normally prefer Argentina Malbecs for their fruit forward finish. This one has a bitter choke-cherry taste. Dryer than usual and bold without complexity. I was disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy NickCustomer ServiceDecember 29, 2015
Sorry that the wine was not enjoyed. We will make sure this wine is not included in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we'd love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and

dislike). It'll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles

that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under 'My

Wine Cellar' and away you go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Very nice Malbec, good for gifting
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 18, 2015
Customer avatar
This was a good wine - didn't really WOW me, but was nice for drinking socially.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
I thought it was very dry.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Ok but not great
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>