Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

Laithwaites Wine J Opi Malbec 2012

A few years ago, Rodolfo ‘Opi’ Sadler snagged the Malbec Trophy at Argentina’s national show. Then came international acclaim — the Argentinean Red Trophy at the 2009 Decanter World Wine Awards. Here’s the next chapter of his sumptuous Malbec.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J Opi Malbec 2012
Review 1 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Red

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Janice901
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not much of a red wine lover, but this is one that I will absolutely drink anytime. Loved it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bold and flavorful - smooth, too!

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
TomTiger
Location:AL
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great drinking wine - bold and flavorful - smooth, too! Either drink it alone or with a spicy dish. We love it both ways!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very dry

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
logcabin97
Location:Beatrice, NE
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
a very dry wine and also heavy. Needs to be more smoother!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perhaps the best value red at Laithwaites

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fkarem
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this in my intro. case and was very, very happy with it. Sadler is best known for the Waxed Bat reds, which are good but a bit sweet for me. This malbec, in contrast, was a marvel of balance: good fruit, acidity, and mild tannins all working together. You can drink this on its own or with a wide range of foods, from red sauce pasta dishes to a hearty steak. It's a superior value for the price as well. If you like this, you should try his reserve Malbec, which is outstanding as well and great for special occasions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Malbec

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jay118
Location:Salisbury, NC
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love the Malbac. Velvet smooth. Fantastic with a grilled steak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This wine was smooth and pleasant to drink.

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
GEJGS94
Location:Northfield, MN, USA
We enjoy a good Malbec and found this one to be excellent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

J Opi Malbec 2012

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Claudia7
Location:Hemphill, TX 75948, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this wine, it was not too dry or spicy. It had a pleasant aroma, a rich color and A very smooth velvety finish. Excellent wine, I will buy again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Delicious!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
MumboJumbo1
Location:Florida
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had never tasted a Malbec wine before. I liked this wine so much that I ordered the assorted Malbec wine special. So glad I joined this wine club! I love the deep burgundy color of this wine. The flavor is very nice; not too sweet or too strong.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wine

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
AJ115
Location:Miami, FL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great taste, aroma, it is a great wine all around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Malbec!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Will22
Location:Missouri
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We loved this Malbec with or without food. We rated it 5 stars and purchased a case. Very good fruity essence with a hint of chocolate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where Have I been

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
karen1950
Location:Peoria, IL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malbec was all new to me Argentine or South African,now I am having a hard time deciding which I like most. I will just keep pouring and decide later
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full, rich, wonderful mouth-feel!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris45
Location:Florida, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my favorite Malbec, and OPI never disappoints! The wine is full, no harshness at all. Please keep offering it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Malbec!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
tifferdite1
Location:Detroit, MI, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tannins and heavy on the tongue. Chocolate essence along with a slight elderberry tartness. Very deep and rich. Again an OUTSTANDING Malbec!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was a great bottle of wine for my first Laithwaites experience...

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BlueHeron
Location:Long Beach, CA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first bottle of my initial shipment. It was a very tasty Malbec. It was smooth and flavorful. It wad hard to stop drinking it. But the next day I was glad I did because I got to have some more! I'm glad they sent two bottles of this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Malbec

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
vinolover
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is okay, but the Opi 2010 is much, much better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just slightly above average.

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
BobandCheryl
Location:CT
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We prefer a dry red wine with more of a full body and flavor. This Malbec was just OK overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
ChacMool
Location:Florida, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We thoroughly enjoyed this Malbec and plan to add more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great taste, strong finish

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Dcip23
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love malbecs and this one is no exception. Smooth taste, with a great finish.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J Opi Malbec 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rasberry Jam

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Edog
Location:Boston, MA, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very fruit forward malbec. Nice fruit rollup nose with jammy rasberries on the palate. Does not have the spicy, dark fruit of other malbec. No oak but a nice subtle finish of jammy tartness. If you like fruit forward wines with no oak, this is your wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J Opi Malbec 2012
This review is fromJ Opi Malbec 2011.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great flavor. Very fruity

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
martini
Location:Brooklyn, NY, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This wine is really great with meat. It is worth the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>