Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010

Drink wine like the Strozzi family, who’ve made history in Tuscany for centuries (Macchiavelli worked for them; Mona Lisa is an ancestor; the Medicis were rivals). This cherry and chocolate-packed classic is what they serve at big family feasts.
Overall rating:
2.744 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
7
1 Star
12
14 out of 37(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
Review 1 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointingly off the mark

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
AlbionBoy
Location:The Great Lakes
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Between us, me and my wife only managed a glass before disposing of the rest. Gave the second bottle away.
Stale and unpleasing to the palate. A rare glitch in a good introductory selection.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceSeptember 18, 2014
Very sorry you did not like this wine. We'll be in touch to sort out a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Chianti!

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
JazzMan
Location:Minnesota, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this wonderful Chianti. The bouquet was stunning, layered and smooth. The taste outstanding with velvety lightness on the tongue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for me

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Toni32
Location:Brooklyn, NY, USA
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was really looking forward to trying this bottle. I never had Chianti before. I like bold reds. This was ok, it left a strong lingering aftertaste which is why I am giving it only 2 stars.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Chianti

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Bill46
Location:Boston area
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reminds me of the cheap Chianti I used to think was good wine when I was in college.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceJuly 24, 2014
Very sorry you didn't like the wine, we'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

just a little dry for my taste

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
wineno
Location:ohio
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this wine is a little dry for me , I prefer a simi-sweet
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've never had Chianti before

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
And this was a great first! Heavy red, but lightly sweet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very dry initially, but finished well.

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Tomg
Location:Murrysville, PA, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This wine was initially too dry for both of us, but grew on us quickly. Was great with the Italian food we had.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed a lot!

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Strozzi
Found this wine to be smooth and have great flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Questo e buonissimo!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
MsMac
Location:Texas, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Full bodied and smooth, smooth, smooth. Delightful cherry undertones and just right on sweetness. Lovely wine to enjoy on a rainy afternoon or quiet romantic evening.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This wine was okay...I would drink it again if I saw it at wine tasting or dinner party, but wouldn't purchase again.

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
mask55
Location:Virginia, USA
This Chianti is okay, left a slightly acidic finish that I didn't like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The pedigree doesn't help

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Wine
Location:Tequesta, FL
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did my best to try to like this wine. I thought that adding red peppers to the food might hide the taste but it didn't. The bad after taste still comes through. It was not pleasant. Perhaps there is something in the Italian experience I am missing. There are other wines I would rather invest in.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sour and Off

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
SeattleWA
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't recommend this wine at all. We received two bottles of it and I opened both with the same result. I don't recommend this particular wine at all.
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer CareApril 30, 2014
Very sorry you were disappointed. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund for both bottles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One great bottle, one strange flavored bottle

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
livininitalia
Location:Arizona, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The first bottle we opened smelled "off" - not corked, just not right. After sitting all night it recovered nicely. The 2nd bottle was excellent from start to finish. My wife is the Chianti lover and based on bottle 1, she/we would not recommend. But with such a small sample and a wonderful 2nd bottle, I would be willing to try again and am fairly certain it would hold up well, just not willing to try it yet.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would not recommend

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
DMS4
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As a red wine enthusiast, I occasionally enjoy a nice glass of Chianti. This one, however, was hard to drink.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

a very unpleasant experience nothing to like about this wine

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
dread
Location:colorado
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
a very unpleasant experience nothing to like about this wine
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Meh. Pretty bottle, very disappointing.

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Cristiano
Location:New York, NY
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Out of all the bottles I have received this was by far the most disappointing. No body or depth, bitter, tasted a bit like unripened berries. Tried both bottles to see if there was a difference but observed the same results. Did not have with dinner.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a pleasant experience.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Monkey
Location:Florida
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Opened the two bottles for a dinner party. Several found the wine to have a very bitter after taste. I have never had a bottle from you that was not enjoyable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad wine, perhaps a tainted bottle?

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
danthewino
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was very dissatisfied with this wine, and I have another bottle of it, and I don't think I want to give this another chance. I will be contacting customer support about this bottle.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Meh

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Evlampius
Location:Massachusetts, USA
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had way better chianti than this. Its dry, dull and with bitter earthy aftertaste. This wine is not my cup of tea.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Principe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2010
This review is fromPrincipe Strozzi Chianti DOCG 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Appearance was good, aroma and taste were just okay

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
topper27
Location:Pennsylvania
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really like chianti wines from Italy, but this on was just okay.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>