Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011

Laithwaites Wine Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011

When the masterful Mario Ercolino discovered a small parcel of gnarled, old-bush vines deep in Puglia's rolling countryside, he knew he’d found something special. One taste of this smooth, fruit-rich, gold-medal champion, and you’ll understand why.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
Review 1 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bold red

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
dhill67
Location:Washington, D.C.
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Opened this bottle and let it breathe for about 30 minutes before serving. Paired it with bourbon seasoned filet mignon grilled on charcoal with cedar smoke. Wine flavors were perfect with the steak as well as a dark chocolate desert. It would have been nice to have a second bottle as our guests enjoyed it too but one bottle only took care of one serving for each of us. I will be ordering more soon. It is a great value too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Laithwaite's WineCustomer ServiceDecember 17, 2014
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Tenuta di Somaro! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From My Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I’ve Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbol next to the wine you’ve enjoyed—this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list. You’ll then be able to use this list to remember and reorder your favorites easily. We’ll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you’re first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very solid red

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
edwardsb
Location:Orange County, CA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This red was a very bold red. Very great texture and wonderfully delicious. Definitely deserving of a place in the top 12 bundle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bold bouget disappointing flavor

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Concord211
Location:North Carolina, USA
When you open this bottle it has a wonderful bouquet but the taste is a little disappointing. It is drinkable but the flavor is not as bold as the aroma and the finish is harsh. Not my favorite.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent & Smooth

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
BCWine
Location:Dallas, TX
Very good and fruity. Would definitely purchase this wine again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my faves!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Pombo
Location:Hollidaysburg PA
Tentuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012 was a favorite of mine. I found it to have a smooth, pleasing flavor and it was not overwhelming. Would definitely purchase again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to drink

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
MEandRed
Location:Jefferson City, MO, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We received this wine in our first mixed red case after we joined the wine club through Frontgate. What a surprise! Especially for under $20 a bottle. The wine is easy to drink and goes well with spicy foods. We enjoyed the wine with curry and other Indian foods and then ordered a case.
Would highly recommend this great value red from Italy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
This review is fromTenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2012.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
jhubbucla
Location:Jacksonville, FL, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really enjoyed this wine! I am always a little "leery" of the unknown... and this wine was an absolute delight! Not heavy, refreshing... really, really good!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Italian Red

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Courtney
Location:Chicagoland
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first venture into Aglianico. Delicious. I tasted black currants. It was well balanced and velvety. I could really taste the Primitivo, too. We had it with spaghetti and spicy meatballs and it was an excellent pairing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fruity BBQ ready primativo

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Edog
Location:Boston, MA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was really surprised by this wine. Very fruity and meaty. Figs, chocolate, tomatoes. Kind of a fruit bomb but goes well with outdoor grilling. Great QPR.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Value for money 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5