Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This rich, oak-aged red is made from an exclusive blend of premium California grapes, and delivers mouthfuls of blackberry and black currant flavor. Don’t be distracted by the punctuation on the label – there’s no questioning its taste appeal.
Overall rating:
3.907 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
10
1 Star
14
87 out of 99(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Review 1 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 26, 2016
Customer avatar
This is a nice CA wine. Not going to be your favorite, but will please you. Nice dinner wine that you would not be embarrassed to serve to friends. Smooth from beginning to end and pairs good with beef, venison and sausages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJune 19, 2016
Customer avatar
A mediocre red with a stupid name and useless label description. I have to admit I have a bias against wines with cutesy names.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy NickCustomer ServiceJune 21, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 18, 2016
Customer avatar
this is another favorite many guest enjoy this as well. wish we can get more in our cases
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 12, 2016
Customer avatar
A very good blend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 9, 2016
Customer avatar
This was a fantastic wine with a really interesting label that kept people guessing. Will definitely buy again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJune 9, 2016
Customer avatar
Good for guests or those who like a medium bodied red. Not much to rave about but certainly passable and likely loved by those who don't like heavy, oaky, intense reds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a bad wine, just not my preference

PostedJune 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Has a smokey flavor which some people love, but just isn't my preferences.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy FredCustomer ServiceJune 9, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it, and we'll make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJune 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Too spicy.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy TonyaCustomer ServiceJune 15, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 4, 2016
Customer avatar
This is by far my favorite wine I have received from Laithwaites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJune 3, 2016
Customer avatar
Didn't like it cold. Needs room temperature. Okay with something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedJune 3, 2016
Customer avatar
This wine was an ok value. A healthy mix of spice, though not sure of the varietal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Excellent wine with great fruit aromas. Well suited for red meat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Loved this! Surprising with a real fruit forward flavor, yet dry enough for my tastes. I will order more and look forward to sharing the second bottle (fortunately there were 2 in my recent Four Seasons Club order!) with my friends on the Holiday weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 24, 2016
Customer avatar
Aroma was subtle, very soft. Taste was not heavy and was very smooth and silky as advertised. Definitely falls into our favorite category. Nice color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 17, 2016
Customer avatar
Very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to drink,but nothing special

PostedMay 14, 2016
Customer avatar
Location:Grand Island, NE, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice easy wine on the pallet but keeps you guessing what it is your tasting. Enjoyable just not enough to say I would want more
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMay 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Smooth not great but ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Great wine, dry, not very acidic with a slight bitterness, a good balance of flavors overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
We loved this one.... great with a heavier meal like pasta and red sauce
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 29, 2016
Customer avatar
Very unique!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>