Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This rich, oak-aged red is made from an exclusive blend of premium California grapes, and delivers mouthfuls of blackberry and black currant flavor. Don’t be distracted by the punctuation on the label – there’s no questioning its taste appeal.
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
80 out of 91(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Review 1 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bargain!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really didn't know what to expect from the Doohickey California Red Blend 2013, but we were quite pleased overall. The wine poured a very opaque purple/dark red type of color. It had a wonderful nose which defied its inexpensive price as it delivered dense black fruit aromas with a bit of spice and a hint of smoke. When tasted it provided a rich & deep flavor which reminded me of a fresh baked blackberry pie and it even had highlights of the pie crust. It was remarkably smooth and easy to drink with or without food. No decanting time was required for this bottle. At $11.99 per bottle you just can't go wrong trying a bottle of this wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
Customer avatar
Very good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
A serious contender with a funny name!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Love this wine ! the flavor was bold
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Good blend. Light. Had with chili.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedNovember 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Disappointing blend. Extremely light bodied wine to point of tasting watered down. Don't recommend
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy FredCustomer ServiceDecember 4, 2015
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we have taken care of the refund for this bottle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised.

PostedNovember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:A lake in Wisconsin
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy sipping wine. Great for an everyday setting or sharing with fruends. Yummy berry flavors.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Good red table wine, very drinkable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rich, full bodied

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
This jammy wine has good heft, is full of flavor, and pairs well with food. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

We did not like it at all.

PostedJune 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We did not like it at all. We are surprised that it got past the assessment by the club's selection team.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceJune 9, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We’ll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very drinkable

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is not for dry red lovers. it is very drinkable and I think a great summer red. perfect for a light and slightly sweet red wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value, and surprisingly complex

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This came in a club case and I wasn't expecting too much from it--just an everyday red blend, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is very easy to drink, with lots of lush fruit, but it has nice depth of flavor and balance. It is as good as some California reds that are much pricier--definitely a great value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the Better Values

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Western Massachusetts
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine turned out to be one of the more pleasant surprises, and definitely worth the price. A little on the sweet side for a red, but was a good drink. A good compliment to food.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent everyday wine at a great price !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A delicious, accessible California red

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I usually find California reds a little sweet, and this was no exception, but it was still quite tasty. If you like a bone-dry red, this isn't for you. It is delightful and surprisingly well-balanced, with full fruit up front and a smooth finish. There are barely any tannins, but some nice acidity gives it balance for food. It is as good as some California reds that are much more expensive, so I can understand why this is a customer favorite. Fans of full-bodied reds should definitely try this one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for a burger or pizza

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:New York
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice everyday wine that goes with a simple meal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wine wears well

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Dunedin, FL
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine should please most wine drinkers - it is rich and satiny and the price is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Wine

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recomend drink with beef or pasta. Good aroma and flavor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good at the price level

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An OK red with clear impression of black currant.Not a great wine, but at the price definitely worth a try
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I have found yet for the money!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location:Columbus, OH
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first bottle was tried immediately after it was opened. It came across as excessively acidic and generally unpleasant. Following a 30 min. chilling, the temperature of the wine in the still open bottle had dropped from 78° to 66°. A second pour at that point produced a result surprisingly better than the first pour. The acidity had reduced to very acceptable levels. The complexity, nose, fullness in the mouth, and finish were all reminiscent of similar wines priced at two – three times more than this one. The first bottle was then polished off as was the second bottle.
The day after the above test, I ordered nine more bottles of the 2013 vintage and also three bottles of the 2012 vintage(for comparison purposes). The customer service representative mentioned that Doohickey also was available in a Merlot so I also ordered three bottles of that. All of the ordered items are presently in transit.
Thank you for making this really fun offering available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>