Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This rich, oak-aged red is made from an exclusive blend of premium California grapes, and delivers mouthfuls of blackberry and black currant flavor. Don’t be distracted by the punctuation on the label – there’s no questioning its taste appeal.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 143 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
7
1 Star
13
87 out of 99(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Review 1 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Excellent wine with great fruit aromas. Well suited for red meat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Loved this! Surprising with a real fruit forward flavor, yet dry enough for my tastes. I will order more and look forward to sharing the second bottle (fortunately there were 2 in my recent Four Seasons Club order!) with my friends on the Holiday weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 24, 2016
Customer avatar
Aroma was subtle, very soft. Taste was not heavy and was very smooth and silky as advertised. Definitely falls into our favorite category. Nice color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 17, 2016
Customer avatar
Very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Easy to drink,but nothing special

PostedMay 14, 2016
Customer avatar
Location:Grand Island, NE, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice easy wine on the pallet but keeps you guessing what it is your tasting. Enjoyable just not enough to say I would want more
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMay 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Smooth not great but ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Great wine, dry, not very acidic with a slight bitterness, a good balance of flavors overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
We loved this one.... great with a heavier meal like pasta and red sauce
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 29, 2016
Customer avatar
Very unique!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Amazing! totally fun wine bursting with all kinds of flavors! Will pair well with anything! Buy it by the case!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 7, 2016
Customer avatar
This is my favorite wine yet from Laithwaite's...I LOVE IT!!! Very earthy, and smooth...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Lovely, fruity, mellow not bitter tannins. Yum!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedApril 3, 2016
Customer avatar
Way too fruit forward and light. 0 out of 4 people liked it
Response from Laithwaites WineBy FredCustomer ServiceApril 5, 2016
Very sorry for the disappointment. If you haven’t already been refunded we’ll be in touch soon to take care of it and will make sure this wine doesn’t feature in any of your future wine club cases.

To help us serve you better, we’d love to know a little more about the kinds of wine you like (and dislike). It’ll take just a minute and will enable us to tailor cases to your tastes and recommend bottles that are just right for you. Simply log in to your online account, select Wine Preferences under ‘My Wine Cellar’ and away you go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 4, 2016
Customer avatar
Nice smooth wine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
This was a GREAT hit at a family gathering. I would love to revive at least one bottle with my quarterly orders!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Customer avatar
Love love love this wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
Customer avatar
this was very good fragrant with hints of vanilla and reminders of creme brulees
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bargain!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really didn't know what to expect from the Doohickey California Red Blend 2013, but we were quite pleased overall. The wine poured a very opaque purple/dark red type of color. It had a wonderful nose which defied its inexpensive price as it delivered dense black fruit aromas with a bit of spice and a hint of smoke. When tasted it provided a rich & deep flavor which reminded me of a fresh baked blackberry pie and it even had highlights of the pie crust. It was remarkably smooth and easy to drink with or without food. No decanting time was required for this bottle. At $11.99 per bottle you just can't go wrong trying a bottle of this wine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
Customer avatar
Very good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2014.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
A serious contender with a funny name!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>