Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Laithwaites Wine.

Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This rich, oak-aged red is made from an exclusive blend of premium California grapes, and delivers mouthfuls of blackberry and black currant flavor. Don’t be distracted by the punctuation on the label – there’s no questioning its taste appeal.
Overall rating:
3.796 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
42 out of 52(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Review 1 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great value, and surprisingly complex

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
fkarem
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This came in a club case and I wasn't expecting too much from it--just an everyday red blend, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is very easy to drink, with lots of lush fruit, but it has nice depth of flavor and balance. It is as good as some California reds that are much pricier--definitely a great value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the Better Values

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Tim01
Location:Western Massachusetts
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine turned out to be one of the more pleasant surprises, and definitely worth the price. A little on the sweet side for a red, but was a good drink. A good compliment to food.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A delicious, accessible California red

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
fkarem
Location:Cleveland, OH, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I usually find California reds a little sweet, and this was no exception, but it was still quite tasty. If you like a bone-dry red, this isn't for you. It is delightful and surprisingly well-balanced, with full fruit up front and a smooth finish. There are barely any tannins, but some nice acidity gives it balance for food. It is as good as some California reds that are much more expensive, so I can understand why this is a customer favorite. Fans of full-bodied reds should definitely try this one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wine wears well

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Twixt
Location:Dunedin, FL
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine should please most wine drinkers - it is rich and satiny and the price is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Wine

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
jlberrios67
Location:Charleston, SC, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recomend drink with beef or pasta. Good aroma and flavor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good at the price level

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Holmark
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An OK red with clear impression of black currant.Not a great wine, but at the price definitely worth a try
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I have found yet for the money!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Howie
Location:Columbus, OH
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first bottle was tried immediately after it was opened. It came across as excessively acidic and generally unpleasant. Following a 30 min. chilling, the temperature of the wine in the still open bottle had dropped from 78° to 66°. A second pour at that point produced a result surprisingly better than the first pour. The acidity had reduced to very acceptable levels. The complexity, nose, fullness in the mouth, and finish were all reminiscent of similar wines priced at two – three times more than this one. The first bottle was then polished off as was the second bottle.
The day after the above test, I ordered nine more bottles of the 2013 vintage and also three bottles of the 2012 vintage(for comparison purposes). The customer service representative mentioned that Doohickey also was available in a Merlot so I also ordered three bottles of that. All of the ordered items are presently in transit.
Thank you for making this really fun offering available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not like this

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
DCNANCAN
Location:DC
I could not sip this wine - but it was ok when it was chilled and I drank it with dinner. Really did not like it!
Would not give it away either.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceJanuary 15, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dislike

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Joanna
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tasted like a very cheap table wine. We each had once glass and dumped the rest of the bottle. Now we aren't sure what to do with the other bottle I have. I wouldn't even give it to friends to drink.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer Service January 13, 2015
Very sorry for the disappointment. Please contact us so that we may sort out a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

easy drinking

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
PearlMolly
Location:Tejas
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it's not tremendous but very drinkable for the $ - a nice easy kind of 'house wine' as i refer to most pleasant & not too costly wines
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

split decision

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
bryang
Location:Greencastle, IN
Value for money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have 2 different experiences- on the day I opened the bottle, I found it not very good. Seemed "raw/ green" and extremely spicy on the finish.
I finished the bottle a day later and thought I was drinking a totally different wine. Was acceptable, not near as spicy, and seemed to have a hint of chocolate.
I assume the chocolate had to be my taste buds being off since chocolate is not even mentioned in the tasting notes.
Would I order this?- No Does it suffice as a "table" wine?- yes Would I serve it to friends?- No
I will finish the 2nd bottle but do know I will allow it to breathe for a considerable amount of time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
RedLover59
Location:Northville, MI, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This wine is surprisingly interesting and well balanced. A little light on the finish but a nice, smooth drinkable wine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Thin and acid; one of two bottles turned

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
vinofan
Location:New Jersey, USA
Value for money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointing. I've had cheap box wine that was better. We relegated one of the bottles to duty as a cooking wine, since it had started to turn and was halfway to vinegar. The other bottle was drinkable, but not by much. Maybe we just got a couple of uncharacteristically bad bottles, but you have to ask yourself, do you want to gamble on other bottles being better?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceDecember 19, 2014
Very sorry for the disappointment. We'll be in touch soon to sort out a refund and will make sure this wine doesn't feature in any future wine club cases.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not my favorite

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
sdc99
Location:Hamilton Township, NJ, USA
Value for money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not bad, but a bit harsh tasting. It did go nicely with the turkey at Thanksgiving. Not a spectacular wine, though.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

only bad one so far

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Rick304
Location:New England
This one wasn't very good. The tannins in it never mellowed, even after the bottle was decanted and the wine was left out to breathe for 2 hours. So far this is the only bottle from Laithwaite's that we really didn't enjoy. It never got to the point where it was enjoyable to drink. If you like firmer tannins in wine you might like it, I don't and didn't care for this one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceDecember 13, 2014
Sorry for any disappointment - we only ever want you to pay for wines you enjoy and we'll be in touch soon to take care of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth and Delicious

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
AngieT
Location:Long Island, NY
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this wine. Smooth,the aroma was pleasant, and while the label asks you to figure out the wines, I haven't a clue. We enjoyed it with some cheese and crackers. Perfect. I also love the name and and how the '?" mark is in the name and on the cork - just an enjoyable part of the process. I think this is my new favorite.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceDecember 9, 2014
Thanks for your review; we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Doohickey! Here’s how you can keep a record of wines that you’ve loved with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The dark rich color was unbelievable, taste was smooth and unforgettable.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Silverfox
Location:New York, ny, usa
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this wine, best I ever had. Has everything you would want in a deep rich red.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceDecember 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Doohickey California Red Blend 2013! Here’s another way you can keep a record of wines that you’ve liked with one quick click:

From my Wine Cellar, go to ‘Wines I've Purchased’ and simply click on the heart symbols next to the wines you’ve enjoyed – this will add them to your ‘My Favorite Wines’ list . You'll then be able to use this list to remember and re-order your favorites easily. We'll keep an eye on this delicious list too and make sure you're first to hear about special offers and new vintages. Happy favoriting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too sweet

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Rpdigit
Too sweet, poured it down the drain. What do I do with the second bottle?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceNovember 28, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine. That's where out money-back guarantee really helps. We will be in touch soon to process your refund for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great surprise!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Jen300
Location:Akron, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine is very drinkable! Goes with anything or have it just by itself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smooth red blend

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
shadleen
Location:Lewis Center, OH 43035, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This went well with and in my stew. Very smooth red and my Merlot drinking friends would enjoy this! Keep extra in the cellar to serve for you and your guests for an over all hit!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>