Customer reviews for Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

Laithwaites Wine Doohickey California Red Blend 2012

This rich, oak-aged red is made from an exclusive blend of premium California grapes, and delivers mouthfuls of blackberry and black currant flavor. Don’t be distracted by the punctuation on the label – there’s no questioning its taste appeal.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Review 1 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too sweet

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Rpdigit
Too sweet, poured it down the drain. What do I do with the second bottle?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Laithwaites WineBy Customer ServiceNovember 28, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy the wine. That's where out money-back guarantee really helps. We will be in touch soon to process your refund for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great surprise!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Jen300
Location:Akron, OH, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This wine is very drinkable! Goes with anything or have it just by itself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
This review is fromDoohickey California Red Blend 2013.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smooth red blend

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
shadleen
Location:Lewis Center, OH 43035, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This went well with and in my stew. Very smooth red and my Merlot drinking friends would enjoy this! Keep extra in the cellar to serve for you and your guests for an over all hit!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tasty

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
LoveMyWine
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly, it's been awhile since we enjoyed this wine but I distinctly remember it being very dark and VERY yummy! Extremely smooth.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent balance

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
southwestwino
Location:Colorado, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the best balanced wines around. The blend is excellent and the winemaker should be commended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good if you like sweet

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
CMLo
Location:Ohio, NE, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This wine has nice balance though it is sweeter than my palate wanted with my cheese and meat tray.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for money

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
LarryTexas
Location:Houston, Texas
Nice red wine of medium weight, good character, and not dry. Has nice fruity flavor, good value for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Let it breathe

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Virginia67
Location:Luray, VA 22835, USA
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a wine you want to let breathe for a while. Those tannins need to mellow. Once you do that it is a great wine with steak
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprisngly nice!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
docbob
Location:Houston, TX, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The name made me laugh! The taste made me say "oooh nice!"
We received this in our quarterly shipment. The idea of a surprise wine which says on the label that I must guess the grapes inside did not quickly amuse me. However, I wanted to be a sport, so I tried it. I liked it! I don't claim to know my grapes, but it is familiar......what do you think? Tones of Merlot? But seemingly lighter? I recommend you try it....and post your guess too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised at the richness!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
David
Location:Memphis, TN, USA
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good wine with a lot of depth of taste. If you like Red Wine with chocolate this is an awesome choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Scrumptious Wine!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Renee67
Location:MN
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a delightful red wine that is not overly heavy. Very enjoyable to sip on while cooking dinner and a great compliment to the wintry vegetable beef stew. Thank you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
JMC24
Value for money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very light.... drinkable with many food items or by itself
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doohickey California Red Blend 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice red blend

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
JBotzman
Location:Central Florida
Value for money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The catchy name makes this easy to remember. The wine is not spectacular, but makes a great sipping wine with summer sausage and a sharp cheese. We enjoyed this wine very much.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.